Day 1 ~ Optifast

So today is the day; my first day of Optifast which means only 14 days till Surgery. I woke this morning and felt nervous. The closer surgery gets, the more nervous I am. I think I am nervous because I have been overweight my whole entire adult life and some days its hard to imagine what life will be like when I’m not. But I got up and I made my Breakfast Shake. I have always liked these Shakes so I don’t think this part of the Pre-Op stage will be hard for me but I know I will get bored of the shakes. I usually do. So this morning I thought I would do something a bit different. I made my shake with 5-6 ice cubes and about 150ml of water and blended them into a frappe consistency. It was SO much more filling.

breakfast

Breakfast Shake: Banana Frappe.

I then decided that it would be best to be prepared if I got hungry for “real” food so I headed down to the local supermarket to get a few supplies. Fresh Vegetables, some Optifast Chicken and Vegetable Soups and some sparking water which I like to have with lemon. This is my dinner treat. I find I stay on track if I can have something that feels naughty (bubbles) but isn’t.

veg-prep

I have even prepared dinner for tonight. I am home at the moment with the 2 cats, 1 dog and my younger sister as the parentals are on Holiday for the week. Tonight my sister is having Spaghetti Bolognese which will not bother me as I am a vegetarian but I wanted to have my meal ready as the smell of hers might set me off. So I looked up a recipe for Cauliflower Fried Rice. Made entirely with approved vegetables and  instead of oil I used a little water. I had a small portion with my lunch and it was delicious. Who would have thought.

 cauliflower-rice

I hope that the next 13 days goes as easily as today has. I know that it is probably not going to happen but I know I have support here at home as well as my online support and my lovely followers here. Thank you all for supporting me and also sharing your journey with me. It really does make this process so much easier.

Date: 17/01/2017

Leave a Reply

