Tasty Vegetarian Recipes

recipes-title

So most of you are all aware by now that I am a Vegetarian. This makes the Optifast Stage of Pre-Op pretty easy for me because I am not having to give up Red Meat as well as all those other naughty things that we LOVE to eat.

In saying that, to help you all I have found some very tasty recipes that you might enjoy which I have tweaked a little as we aren’t meant to eat eggs during this stage.

  1. Vegetarian Fritters
    These are simple and you can really add any vegetables that you want. I used Sweet Potato, Zucchini, Carrot and Red Onion. All I did was grate all the veggies, add a small spoonful of flour and water to blend everything together. Then cooked in the fry pan with spray Extra Virgin Olive Oil. While they were cooking I smashed 1/2 an Avocado and mixed with a squeeze of fresh lemon. Even the sister enjoyed these.
  2. Cauliflower Garlic Bread
    This I have NEVER tried before and am in the process of making it now so I am not 100% sure yet if this one will work out. I did however have to use one egg as I could not bond it any other way. Grate 1/2 a cauliflower into a bowl (It should look like rice nearly), cover with cling film and microwave till soft. Mix 1 egg, garlic (to taste) and fresh parsley in a bowl. Add to the soft cauliflower mix and combined. I needed to add a small amount of flour as it was a bit wet but not too much. Spoon out onto a lined baking tray and cook in a pre-heated oven (200 degrees celsius fan forced) for 20 mins or till golden brown.

At the moment, my Garlic Bread has been in for 10mins and it is smelling amazing. I hope that it turns out and will let you all know with an update to this post later.

If anyone has any other Vegetarian recipes that I can use on this stage it would be hugely appreciated. Thanks once again to all my loyal readers and followers.

UPDATE: The Cauliflower Bread dish turned out quite well. I think it would be better added to something (maybe roasted vegetables and smashed avocado on top) as it was a bit plain on its own.

Date: 18/01/2017

 

Leave a Reply

